Mark Smythe Table Tennis

Australia's no. 1 coach

1993 Oceania C'ships highlights package

A highlights package has been put together from 1993 Oceania C'ships. The two biggest memories of this tournament were,

- Men's Singles Final. A classic match between Dennis Makaling & Peter Jackson that went to deuce (20-20) in the deciding 5th set

- First trial in Oceania region of games up to 11 points. This was trialled in Under 20 & Under 17 Events. The rule (games up to 11 points) was introduced 8-9 years later.


To watch the 34min clip click, 1993 Oceania C'ship highlights


Players featured,

Russell Lavale (Victoria)

Shane Laughsen (New Zealand)

Bill Rajab (Victoria)

Daniel Hemstead (New Zealand)

Genna Raber, (New South Wales)

Rafael Pronobis (Victoria)

Jeff Plumb (Aust. Capital Territory)

Dennis Makaling (Victoria)

Barry Griffiths (New Zealand)

Brett Clarke (Victoria)

Peter Jackson (New Zealand)

Paul Langley (South Australia)

Andrew Hubbard (New Zealand)

David Zalcberg (Victoria)

Marie Ng (Victoria)

Judy Dillon (Victoria)

Shirley Zhou (Victoria)

Rebecca Pearce (Victoria)

Kent Jamieson (Queensland)

Stuart Gallagher (Western Australia)

Ben Foley (Queensland)

Mark Smythe (Victoria)

Hagen Bower (New Zealand)

Robin Moore Victoria )

Claire Dillon (Victoria)

Kerri Tepper (Victoria)

Jan Tepper (Victoria)

Marita Tobin (Victoria)